Unofficial FAQ for King of the Isles, the sixth deluxe expansion.
Proof reading done by Collin WeirBalon Greyjoy KOTI
- You cannot choose an event in your opponent’s discard pile and put it into play. Put into play and playing an event are not the same.
- Even if you cannot put Desert Raider into play (Barring the Gates), you can still choose a character to gain a power and lose an icon. If characters cannot gain power (Karhold), Desert raider still enters play and the chosen character loses an icon. (Source)
Fury / Karhold / The Starry Sept:
- Moving power is not the same as gaining power.
- If you win an unopposed challenge with multiple characters that has the captain trait, you can only trigger Maiden’s bane once. You can only trigger an ability once per triggering condition.
- If you win a military challenge with multiple characters that has the raider trait, you can only trigger Golden Storm once. You can only trigger an ability once per triggering condition.
- If you trigger more than 1 scouting vessel when pillage happens, each scouting vessel adds 2 additional pillage. Triggering 2 scouting vessel will result in 5 cards being pillaged.
- All pillaged cards enter the discard pile simultaneously.
- Because the triggered ability is an interrupt, you must decide to if you want to trigger it before any cards gets pillaged.
- You can trigger an ability that reacts to cards being pillaged for each card pillaged. (Source) In between each time you wanted to trigger an ability that reacts to each card being pillaged, your opponent also has an opportunity to react to a card being pillaged.
- If you pillage using Euron Crow’s Eye to take control of a Scouting Vessel from your opponent’s discard pile, it is too late to trigger the Scouting Vessel you just took control since the interrupt window to a pillage occurring has passed and you are now in the reaction window of a pillage having occurred.
- If Citadel Archivist gets pillaged, the first player has the first opportunity to trigger any reactions to Citadel Archivist entering the discard pile.
*****Sea of Blood
- An event searched for by Sea of Blood can be played in the same reaction window if the triggering conditions are met (Ex: Put to the Sword).
- Your opponent has the opportunity to trigger a reaction to losing the challenge (Ex: His Viper Eyes) after you trigger Sea of Blood before you can trigger your next card effect for winning the challenge.
- If you put a duplicate of a unique warship into play, the pre-then aspect of the effect did not resolve successfully and thus you cannot stand Euron.
- If a duplicate of a unique warship enters play, the triggering condition has not been met and you cannot put Eager Deckhand into play from your hand.
*****Heir to the Iron Throne
- If you do not find a Lord or Lady in the top 10 cards, the pre-then aspect of the effect did not resolve successfully and thus you cannot sacrifice a Lord or Lady. You can choose not to find a Lord or Lady despite there being a Lord or Lady in the top 10 cards.
- If you find and put into play a duplicate of a Lord or Lady, the pre-then aspect of the effect did not resolve successfully and thus you cannot sacrifice a Lord or Lady.
- If you win a challenge with The Knight and other characters, he can still gain renown if he is alone in the challenge when it’s time to trigger keywords. He can also trigger abilities based on when a Knight character wins a challenge alone as long as he is alone before or during the reaction window for winning the challenge. (Ex: You win a challenge with The Knight and The Hound).
- A character with an intrigue icon can still participate in a challenge against you when you attack with The Drumm as long as the character is participating in the challenge without being declared as a defender. (Ex: My mind is my weapon)
- You must be able to choose both a valid character and location to kneel to trigger the ability.
- Your opponent must have at least 3 cards in his discard pile for you to choose to trigger the ability.
- You cannot declare a challenge without at least 1 character declared as attackers and then use Cohollo’s ability to put him into the challenge.
*****My Mind Is My Weapon
- You can choose a kneeling character with an intrigue icon to participate in a military challenge. If the chosen character was standing, it does not kneel to participate.
*****Return to the Fields
- All the characters are sacrificed simultaneously.
- As an interrupt, the chosen character is placed in the dead pile first before the Drowned Prophet dies and enters the dead pile.
*****Priest of Old Wyk
- If an effect causes Priest of Old Wyk to not contribute its strength to dominance (Ex:Traitor to the Crown or Edric Storm), it still does not contribute his STR to dominance even if you have a drowned god character in your dead pile.