This is a general FAQ for the Shadows mechanic; general rulings about shadows, as well as interactions between the shadows mechanic and previous cards, are listed here.
General Shadows Notes
General Shadows Notes
- Marshalling a card into shadows isn’t considered anything except marshalling a card into shadows; for example, you cannot use an effect that reduces the cost of the next character you marshal (e.g. Blood Orange Grove) to reduce the cost of a character you are marshalling into shadows. It is also not subject to the restrictions on marshalling, such as a unique character being in the dead pile.
- Bringing a character, location, or attachment out of shadows is not the same thing as marshalling it, and won’t trigger effects that interrupt or react to something being marshalled (e.g. Melisandre).(Source)
- Playing an event out of shadows is considered playing it, and will trigger effects that interrupt or react to an event being played (e.g. Knight of Flowers HOT), and are subject to the same restrictions as playing an event. (Source)
- A card with a printed cost “-” has no printed cost, and is not affected by effects that reference printed cost (e.g. Nighttime Marauders). (Source)
- Shadows is an ability that puts cards into play, and cards that are brought out of shadows are entering play.
- Characters returned to hand with The Iron Bank Will Have Its Due can be marshalled into shadows the same turn, but not brought out of shadows that turn.
- A player with Marching Orders revealed can marshal locations, attachments, and events into shadows, and bring locations and attachments out of shadows. They cannot play the event from shadows, however.
- If a player attempts to cancel the effects of an event with printed cost “-” with The Hand’s Judgement, the cost “X” of Hand’s Judgment is undefined. An undefined X value is treated as 0, and so Hand’s Judgment can cancel events with printed cost “-” for 0 gold. (Source)
- Barring the Gates prevents players from bringing characters out of shadows.
- The King in the North does not prevent bringing a character out of shadows, as that is not a triggered ability.